Posted in food ramblings, I cook???, resolutions

“no cooking” on thursdays

So a recap: I’ve not been able to run these few days [rain in the island] so the mr. and I are exercising at home [he’s doing P90X, I dabble in tae-bo, barry’s bootcamp or workouts from women’s health]. I have not been keeping my diet [I know murder me!!] but I’m getting back on track.

Yesterday I was feeling a little sloth-ish [is that even a word?] and had no idea what to cook for dinner. So in an effort to make healthier meals [and nothing that required too much work] I decided on the chicken soup I did for the mr. when he had the flu, only this time it tasted waaaay better [if I do say so myself]. The ingredients are really simple and it’s a quick fix.

Ingredients [I mostly eye-ball everything so I can be wrong with the measurements, exqueese me]

For the chicken:

2 chicken breast halves cut in small cubes

3 cups of water

1 tablespoon of seasoning [I use “cubitos knorr” ** you can use salt and pepper if you’d like, this just tastes better for me and it’s very common in puertorrican cooking ]

-bring the water with the seasoning to a boil

-add the chicken cubes and boil for about 16 minutes

For the soup:

2 tablespoons of olive oil

1/2 cup a white onion

1/2 cup of green onion

1/2 cup of cilantro [fresh is always better]

1 whole tomato chopped into cubes

2 tablespoons of minced garlic

5 cups of chicken stock [I use low sodium ’cause everything else is well seasoned]

1 cup soup noodles

-In a large pot, over medium heat, add the olive oil and minced garlic

-add the green and white onion and sautee for about 2 minutes

-add the tomato and sautee for about a minute

-add the chicken stock and bring to a boil. simmer over medium/low heat for about 15-20 minutes

-about 12-14 minutes into the simmering add the soup noodles

-add the chicken and cilantro and simmer for about 5 more minutes

Serve in a bowl with a little mozzarella sprinkled on top [I added parmesan to mine] Enjoy! 🙂

[Shhhh…..my secret ingredient….a few drops of soy sauce. Don’t tell the mr., he gets on my case ’cause I use it too much]

this be the seasoning
while the chicken was boiling away…
…it was time to chop

evidence of my chopping skills
checking that everything’s according to plan
oil, garlic, onions and tomato
let’s chow down!

ps. I haven’t registered for the fango [mud] run yet but it’s coming soon! Also I’m working on a bucket list so stay tuned 🙂

Author:

I am a young woman discovering myself while juggling life, marriage and law school

liked this post? I'd love to hear from you

