Posted in regular ramblings

kickin’ 40’s

Inspired by this post from my fellow blogger Laura at Not so skinny genes [check her out she’s rad. Is my inner gansta bringing on the 90’s now?]  I’ve decided to let you in on why I think being 40 + Rocks.

I am 25 years old [turning 26 on Saturday], I work through a placement agency [no benefits whatsoever] I am currently enrolled in law-school, newlywed and BROKE [currently working to change that]. That kinda sounds like an “about” page right? But indeed that is my current situation and like my blog friend Laura, I have [probably still am] suffered from an identity crisis.

I remember that when I was a young girl in middle school I thought I’d have everything figured out by the time I was 25. I’d have a career, have a family, a kick-ass body and a gorgeous apartment in the city. So how is it that I don’t have all these things that M*A*S*H* told me I’d have? Simple, LIFE HAPPENS.

Life’s not always what you think it will be and I’ve come to appreciate [not quite love yet] the fact that we can’t control the ups and downs of life but we can control the outcomes and our attitudes about it. There’s pleasure at the finish line but there are also good times during the race.

So I’ve come to terms with the fact that I’m not supposed to have it all together by the time I’m 28. That this is the time for the struggles and successes, for the ups and the downs, to learn that everything comes at it’s time [cheesy cliché but I like it] and to prepare myself for the awesomeness that being 40 promises.

Now, most women [and I do mean most] dread getting older. It means that you get wrinkles, your boobs start to sag [as do your buttocks and thighs] you get flabby arms, menopause hits and many insecurities arise with turning 40. But for me it’s completely different. You see I LONG TO BE 40 [I know many of the women are gasping WHY???] because 40 year olds have it together.

A 40-year-old woman has a career, she’s independent, she knows who she is and who she’s not, she knows what she wants and what is or isn’t aceptable. She doesn’t hesitate, she grabs life as is because she cherishes every moment she can. She takes care of herself, she cares for others, she’s logical and doesn’t lose sight of what’s important in life. She. Is. Awesome. [Plus she’s in her sexual peak…shhhh]

Being 40 doesn’t mean you’re getting old, it means you’re getting wiser and stronger everyday. It’s knowing that all the times you felt insecure as a 25-year-old just served to build character. That all the experiences you’ve had [good or bad] were only to make being 40 all that sweeter. And it means reaping the rewards that came from all the hard work, sacrifices and desperate times during our 20’s and 30’s that you thought would never come.

So next time someone asks your age don’t be afraid to say it. Or if you’re feeling a little lost remember that it’s all part of the ride and soon enough we’ll enjoy the rewards. Just go with the flow.

Like Carrie Bradshaw said in the Sex and the City movies “enjoy life, that’s what your 20’s are for, your 30’s are to learn the lessons and your 40’s are to pay for the drinks” See? Even she knows that 40 year olds have it together.

To keep ya’ll spirits up, here are some 40-something women that didn’t have it all together when they were 20-somethings, but now in their 40’s+ they kick-ass.

8. Dara Torres– 7 years after retiring and having kids, this 40-something year old woman went on to qualify for the Beijing Olympics and win 3 gold medals. Yeah she rocks.

safe to say we can all agree?? [well I do]
7.Michelle Obama– this woman is married to the first black President of the United States but that doesn’t intimidate her. To put it in her own words: One of the lessons that I grew up with was to always stay true to yourself and never let what somebody else says distract you from your goals. And so when I hear about negative and false attacks, I really don’t invest any energy in them, because I know who I am. Yeah, a great lesson indeed.

6. Oprah– Oh who doesn’t know/love Oprah? This woman is one of the most powerful women in the world. She’s caring, strong, independent and over 40! Living proof that working your ass off during your 20’s and 30’s can have a massive payoff.

5. Halle Berry– the first African-american to win an Oscar for Best Actress, she’s a beautiful strong woman. And time agrees with her, she’s just as beautiful as she was 20 years ago. Proof that not all goes downhill after your 20’s.

4. Indra Noovi– an Indian business woman, she became CEO of PEPSI in 2006. A symbol of what determination and drive can accomplish [did I mention she’s over 40???].

3. Ellen Degeneres– she got a bad rep for coming out in 1997, but her comeback is one of the greatest of Hollywood. Now over 40, she has her talk show viewed by millions, she’s a strong and feminine woman [see the Cover Girl commercials] and she could very well be the next Oprah. She’s so amazing that even conservatives old ladies love her.

2. J.K. Rowling– going through a divorce and almost being homeless inspired this woman to write one of the most popular book series of all time [and she’s in her 40’s]. She’s an example that it’s never too late to do what you love.

1. Sonia Sotomayor– Of course! Not only because she’s a Supreme Court Justice [as I’m a law student] and she’s of Puertorrican ascent [I am from Puerto Rico] This woman represents what hard work and dedication can get you [yea she’s over 40 too].

Whoa, after reading about these women it only confirms what I’ve believed all along. Being 40+ rocks. I just hope I’ve brought some piece of mind for all you ladies closing in on 30, 40, 50 +, no matter your age YOU ROCK.

P.S. never be afraid of saying your age, it’s more endearing when you say it with pride. Ooooh I can’t wait to be forty!

Author:

I am a young woman discovering myself while juggling life, marriage and law school

11 thoughts on “kickin’ 40’s

  1. Thanks so much for the shout out 🙂 and you’re right, we need to embrace who we are now as much as who we are going to be. Great post!

  2. I think each decade or even each birthday makes a woman a better version of herself, because of the wisdom she’s gained. I think my 30s have been way more awesome than my 20s- I know myself better now than I did then. Looking forward to the 40s in a few years, too. Every birthday is something to celebrate- another year of life! Thanks for the post!

  3. I have a female friend that belongs to a running group of 30’s, 40’s and 50 year olds. Its hard to tell the difference between them until they have a girls night out…. and the check comes.

    p.s. I am willing to date anyone of the 40 year olds listed above, even Ellen!

liked this post? I'd love to hear from you

