Posted in food ramblings, I cook???, regular ramblings, resolutions, week

vegetarian endeavors

Today is day 4 of my vegetarian change and it’s surprisingly fine. It’s not been easy as pie [which really isn’t that easy to make if you’re doing it from scratch] but it hasn’t been really challenging either. I was delighted to see that my beloved Pinterest had many, many vegetarian recipes, boards and ideas on meals. So I created a new pin board [follow me here] with vegetarian dishes for me to try. On Monday I had a BBQ, cheddar and onion sandwich for dinner, I have no pics of the one I made but here’s a pic of the one from the recipe.

click here for the recipe
click here for the recipe

It was delicious and filling and had two of my favorite things: bread and cheese. On Tuesday I did some roasted tomato soup with cauliflower “breadsticks” and had the same for lunch the next day. Of the tomato soup I have no pictures but I do have some of how my breadsticks turned out.

Here’s the pic from the recipe:

low-carb-breadsticks-recipe

Here are my “breadsticks”:

photo (1)

 

photo

 

Not too shabby right? I did make some changes on my breadsticks though, I added some Bisquick to make them more like biscuits and so they didn’t fall apart. If you want the original recipe click here, but if mine are more appealing to you [I hope they are] here’s my take on cauliflower “breadsticks”:

1 cup of cooked and cooled cauliflower

1 ½ cups cheddar cheese [shredded]

1 ¼ cup of Bisquick [or you can use regular all-purpose flour]

1 tsp oregano [fresh or dried]

1 egg [beaten]

2 tbsp olive oil

2 tsp garlic salt

In a bowl break up the cooked cauliflower as much as you can with a fork. When it is mashed add the egg and the cheese and mix. After add the flour and oregano. When all of this is incorporated, place on a buttered baking dish [I used a loaf pan because I have a very small kitchen oven] and press down to about an 1 ½ . Bake on a 350 degree oven for 30 minutes. Then crank up the temperature to 400 degrees and brush on top the olive oil with the garlic salt. You can sprinkle extra cheddar if you want. Bake for 10 minutes and enjoy!

Today I’m having a tomato-mozarella pizza with tofu bites on the side for lunch. Recipe coming tomorrow 🙂

Author:

I am a young woman discovering myself while juggling life, marriage and law school

4 thoughts on “vegetarian endeavors

  1. Wow….looks delicious!!!!! I’m thinking about turning over to the vegetarian side also. We are going to watch forks over knives tonight and I think that will seal the deal.

liked this post? I'd love to hear from you

