Posted in food ramblings, I cook???, regular ramblings, week

Hypoglycemia, blog award and other stuff

About a month ago I was diagnosed as hypoglycemic which in layman’s terms means that I can’t go more than 2 hours without eating on account of low blood sugar. Diabetes is very common in my family and I have to be mindful of what I eat, especially now being a hypoglycemic ‘cause if I don’t I might end up being diabetic . It’s not all bad [I might finally lose the weight] but I can’t have the same quantities of dinner as I used to. It’s a lifestyle change, but if I keep to my diet everything will be fine. Now all I need to do is adapt my nutricionist’s diet to vegetarianism. Speaking of which, I found this amazing-tasting sweet potato burger recipe on Pinterest [as usual], I did some alterations and the end product was simply delish! If you want the original recipe click here, but scroll down for my take on the burger.

photo (6)
it started out ok…
photo (8)
…when I added too much flour
photo (4)
I fixed it with some butter
photo (2)
yummy time!

Ingredients:

1 medium size sweet potato

1 tsp of garlic salt

½ tsp of parsley

2 tbsp of flour

½ tbsp butter

3 tbsp parmesan cheese

Bread crumbs

Directions: mash the sweet potato and add salt, parsley and flour. Combine the ingredients and add the butter and cheese. Form into two patties and cover in bread crumbs [I used cereal crumbs but you can use whatever you like]. Heat vegetable oil in a medium skillet and fry the patties for about 8 minutes on each side or until golden. Spread BBQ sauce over hamburger buns and top with your favorites [I chose lettuce, tomato and lots of advocado yum!]. Enjoy 🙂

On other musings, I got another blog award! [I’m planning on remodeling the blog to show the awards] Thank you Liam from thelifeofathinker for nominating my blog for the Very Inspiring Blog Award. I’m really liking Liam’s  “if this is the title” feature. But if you wanna know more you have to check out his blog. So the rules for accepting the award are as follows:

Display de logo award

20121210-070937

[check]

Link back to the person who nominated you [check, see above]

State 7 things about you [check]

  1. I pay too-much attention to license plates [I like to make out words out of them]
  2. I am a recent vegetarian [and it’s going great]
  3. The mr. calls me his “pocket imdb” ‘cause I know many,many trivial facts about movies, celebrities, etc.
  4. Of all the “Friends” characters, I most like Monica [refer to #7]
  5. Cockroaches scare the creepers out of me [yuck!]
  6. I will never see the movie “Joe’s apartment” [see #5]
  7. I have OCD [the mr. hates it]
  8. Bonus for ya’ll: I used to be a professional dancer [I will post a video as soon as I find one]

Nominate other 15 bloggers and provide a link to them [check]

  1. Post it notes from my idiot boss
  2. Repurposed Redhead
  3. The best life
  4. Comedy in crisis
  5. Boy and the rabbit
  6. Not so skinny genes
  7. Nurse Frugal
  8. The usual bliss
  9. Carr party of five
  10. Views from the couch
  11. The Dirty Nikka
  12. Truth and Cake
  13. Three.20
  14. Swonderful Smarvelous
  15. Lilly’s Style

Notify the bloggers [check]

Be merry! [I added that one just for the holidays]

I leave you with this picture just to make you wonder…

5696102
{via}
Author:

I am a young woman discovering myself while juggling life, marriage and law school

6 thoughts on “Hypoglycemia, blog award and other stuff

  1. THanks for the nomination girl!!!! Also….sucks with that whole hypoglycemia thing! The good thing is that you are making such a huge effort to improve your diet and improve your health! Good for you! That sweet potato patty looks delish!

liked this post? I'd love to hear from you

