Posted in Uncategorized

It’s hard to see the light at the end of the tunnel

As I mentioned in my “coming back” post, I got transferred at work to the marketing department. Let me point out that I did not ask for this transfer, and while I’m grateful that they didn’t fire me when my previous position got closed, I have to say that I enjoy nothing about this new task.

Every day I wake up without purpose, and I feel defeated.

As I told you before I am pregnant [and super excited about it] and it makes it harder to search for a new job right now. So I’m resigned to work in a department that I don’t like, doing work that I’ve never been interested in and I’m finding it hard to stay motivated and do my best.

There is no recognition whatsoever, there is no thank you and even worse, there was no salary raise. I’m still in minimum wage, working sometimes 12 hours a day in something that I don’t even enjoy. At least when I was a producer in the TV show I had fun, here it’s just bland and uneventful.

I can’t tell you how many times I’ve fantasized about leaving and finding work that I truly enjoy, or even something that I know how to do, but I’m still here.

Now I know this may seem all defeatists, but I have to let it out some way before I go nuts. So I’ve resorted to every day comfort myself in the fact that I am graduating soon [May 2015 J] and that I have to stick it out for 6 more months and that’s it [I’m going on maternity leave and plan to look for a job then], but I gotta tell ya, it’s hard to see the light at the end of the tunnel.

So I make a list of the things that I appreciate about my job:

  1. I get paid

That’s pretty much it. With the economy as it is and the job market so grim, it’s a blessing to have a regular source of income. But every now and then I’d like to be doing something more fulfilling than merely uploading data to a database. As everything, these times will pass and good things will come along, but those moments of hopelessness do come along and so we blow off steam in order to deal with it all because if we didn’t we’d all be crazy.

 PS, for your enjoyment [and my sanity] here’s a funny pic

 Image

And just so I realize that the universe has a weird way of sending us what we need just when we need it, here’s and article I read just when I finished this post: http://www.fastcompany.com/3025079/how-to-be-a-success-at-everything/how-to-overcome-self-doubt-and-a-lack-of-motivation

Author:

I am a young woman discovering myself while juggling life, marriage and law school

liked this post? I'd love to hear from you

